English

Comparisons

Lake Assal or Lake Abbé: two salt deserts, two budgets

Limestone chimneys of Lake Abbé standing in the mist at sunrise
Visit Djibouti

Lake Assal is visited in a single day from Djibouti City, from 18,000 Djiboutian francs per person, transport and guide included. Lake Abbé requires two to three days, a 4×4 with driver and a night in a bivouac, for a minimum of 44,500 francs in the catalogue and up to 133,500 francs per person solo. The choice therefore turns on time and budget, not on the interest of the two sites.

Which of the two lakes can be visited in a day?

Lake Assal, with no possible hesitation. Its destination page gives the published reference points: the lowest point of the African continent at 155 metres below sea level, about 120 kilometres from Djibouti City, an hour and a half on tarmac, with a final stretch on track before the salt works. The visit fits into one day, without a night on the spot, and combines with the Goubet al-Kharab viewpoint, the Ardoukoba volcano or the hot springs of Korili.

Lake Abbé does not fit that format. Access is by track, in a 4×4 with a driver who knows the area, and the formulas sold in the catalogue stretch over two or three days with a night on the spot. We publish no journey time for Lake Abbé: the destination page gives none, and we will not invent one. The only binding duration is that of the formulas actually commercialised.

That is already the answer to the question in the title. Between a site reachable in a day and a two-day expedition, these are not two variants of the same afternoon: they are two formats of travel.

How much does each lake cost, per person and per day?

Catalogue offer Announced price Basis Duration Cost per person per day
Day excursion to Lake Assal 18,000 Fdj per person 1 day 18,000 Fdj
Lake Assal package, depending on group size from 17,794 to 44,485 Fdj per person not specified not calculable
Three-day Lake Abbé tour 44,500 Fdj no stated per-person basis 3 days 14,833 Fdj per day, to be shared across the group
Two-day circuit, Lake Abbé and Lake Assal 55,000 Fdj price announced for the circuit 2 days 27,500 Fdj per day
Lake Abbéh package, depending on formula and group size from 53,000 to 133,500 Fdj per person not specified not calculable

Three points of method, because they change how the table reads.

Only one amount is really attributable to one day and one person: the 18,000 Djiboutian francs of the Lake Assal excursion, transport and guide included. That is the entry price for Lake Assal, and it is announced per person.

We do not divide packages by a number of days. The catalogue record we work from does not publish their duration. Dividing 133,500 francs by two or by three would produce a precise and unfounded figure.

Two package formulas carry a title close to Lake Abbéh. One announces 53,000 francs for 5 to 10 people and 115,000 francs for a solo traveller, the other 62,300 francs for 5 to 10 people and 133,500 francs for a solo traveller. We present them as a range because their titles cannot be distinguished unambiguously. Both are prices per person, decreasing with the size of the group.

Why does Lake Abbé cost several times the price of Lake Assal?

Three reasons, and none of them has to do with the site itself.

Duration. Lake Abbé mobilises two or three days, therefore a night, meals and a vehicle immobilised throughout. Lake Assal is visited between the morning departure and the return in the late afternoon.

The vehicle. Lake Assal is reached by tarmac road, with only the final stretch on track. Lake Abbé requires a 4×4 with driver over the whole route, and that is the main expense: it costs the same whether it carries one person or five.

Night logistics. A bivouac means carrying water, food and lighting and taking everything back. None of that is needed at Lake Assal.

The gap reads first of all in the prices per person, which are announced as such. The Lake Abbéh package reaches 133,500 francs per person for a solo traveller, that is more than seven times the Lake Assal excursion. In a group of five to ten people, it falls back to 62,300 francs per person: still more than three times the Lake Assal excursion, but half the price of the solo rate.

The lowest amount in the catalogue for Lake Abbé is the three-day tour announced at 44,500 francs. Set against the 18,000 francs of the excursion, it represents about two and a half times that amount — subject to the basis of calculation, which the catalogue does not state. That is a reading, not a published price per person.

What effort and comfort does each site demand?

Criterion Lake Assal Lake Abbé
Access Tarmac road, final stretch on track Track, 4×4 with driver essential
Minimum duration 1 day 2 to 3 days depending on the formulas sold
Night on the spot Not necessary Bivouac, with no organised accommodation on the spot
Supplies No supply point on the site No organised supplies
Status Protected natural heritage, salt not to be taken Protected land area, accompaniment by a guide
What you do there Swimming in water with 348 g of salt per litre, salt crust, hot springs Limestone chimneys 30 to 50 m high, former lake bed, herders
Point of vigilance Heat in the basin, no shade at all Isolation, telephone coverage not continuous

Both sites impose the same basic discipline: water in quantity, an early start, no litter left behind and nothing taken. The difference is not the level of effort on the spot, but the number of days and the night logistics that one requires and the other ignores.

Which season for one, which season for the other?

Period Lake Assal Lake Abbé Cross verdict
November – February Comfortable, high visitor numbers Ideal window, firm track, cool nights The only period when both are comfortable
March – April Rising heat, moderate numbers Acceptable, track in good condition Feasible, leaving early
May 32 to 37 °C, low numbers Strong heat, track deteriorating Not recommended
June – August 38 to 46 °C, very low numbers Difficult track, stifling nights To be avoided
September 35 to 40 °C, low numbers Difficult track, hot nights To be avoided
October – December 26 to 31 °C, high numbers Good window, bearable nights A good period for both

The calendar therefore decides in your place if you are aiming for both lakes in the same stay: November to February. The rest of the year, Lake Assal remains workable longer than Lake Abbé, because it does not depend on the state of a track. The month-by-month detail of the general season appears in when to go to Djibouti.

Which one should you choose according to your available time?

Your situation The choice that holds Why
2 to 3 days on the spot Lake Assal One day is enough, the rest of the stay stays available
4 to 5 days Lake Abbé possible Two days on the spot consume half the stay
A tight budget Lake Assal 18,000 Fdj a day per person, against 44,500 Fdj minimum at Lake Abbé
A solo traveller Lake Assal The price per person at Lake Abbé is highest solo
A group of 5 to 10 Lake Abbé becomes accessible The Lake Abbéh package falls to 62,300 Fdj per person, against 133,500 solo
A photographic objective Lake Abbé The destination page flags the raking light of dawn and dusk as the decisive moment

One last point, which is not a sales argument: both sites are protected, and neither is visited by taking anything. At Lake Assal, the salt is photographed. At Lake Abbé, the limestone chimneys are friable and a fragment carried away damages a structure that nothing will rebuild.

Can you combine the two lakes in one stay?

Yes, and it is the only way to see both without doubling the logistics. The catalogue offers a two-day circuit combining Lake Abbé and Lake Assal, announced at 55,000 Djiboutian francs, and a three-day tour that adds Tadjourah, announced at 44,500 francs.

That second amount deserves a remark, because it is counter-intuitive: the three-day tour is announced as cheaper than the two-day circuit. The catalogue does not say why, and we will not explain it in its place. It may be a different content, a different price basis, or a group rate in one case and a per-person rate in the other. Have it specified what is included, and on what basis the price is calculated, before booking.

For the land side of that kind of circuit, nights are prepared like a bivouac: see where to stay in the Dikhil and Lake Abbé area and the cost of a 4×4 with driver. The overall budget of a stay in Djibouti is detailed in budget and costs.

Frequently asked questions

Can you visit Lake Abbé as a day trip?

No. The track is long, partly sandy and crosses an arid environment with no supplies. The formulas sold in the catalogue stretch over two or three days, with a night on the spot or nearby. That is also what allows you to arrive for the evening and morning light, when the limestone chimneys stand out best.

How many days should you plan to see both lakes?

Two days at minimum, with the circuit combining Lake Abbé and Lake Assal, announced at 55,000 Djiboutian francs. A three-day tour including Tadjourah and Lake Assal is offered at 44,500 francs. If you only have one day, Lake Assal is the only one of the two that fits the format.

Is Lake Assal really much cheaper than Lake Abbé?

Yes, on a comparable basis. The Lake Assal excursion costs 18,000 Djiboutian francs per person for a day. The three-day Lake Abbé tour is announced at 44,500 francs, about two and a half times that amount, and the Lake Abbéh package climbs to 133,500 francs per person for a solo traveller.

Why does Lake Abbé cost so much when travelling alone?

Because the main item is the vehicle and its driver, not the number of passengers. A 4×4 on track costs the same whether it carries one person or five. The price per head therefore dilutes with the size of the group: the Lake Abbéh package falls from 133,500 francs for one person to 62,300 francs per person in a group of five to ten.

Can you combine Lake Assal and Lake Abbé in one stay?

Yes, and it is the most efficient formula for seeing both. The catalogue offers a two-day circuit that combines them, and a three-day tour that adds Tadjourah. Beware one detail: the three-day tour is announced as cheaper than the two-day circuit, without the catalogue explaining why. Have the exact content specified before booking.

Sources